Unity Farmers' Market

Annual Meeting

April 9, 2013 at the Community Center

Members present were Lois from Snakeroot Organic Farm, Peg from High Field Farm, Katie from Living Grains, Michelle from Tangled Oak Farm, and Elaine from Maine-ly Apples. Also present was Tess from Maine Farmland Trust.

Prior to the business meeting Jesse Dowling from South Paw Farm and Fuzzy Udder Creamery in Unity submitted her application and described her farming operation. She plans to sell cheese, meat, milk, and various vegetables.

The business meeting was opened by Lois. Members voted unanimously to accept South Paw Farm as a member of the market for this season.

Election of officers was held. Chair of the market was put on hold. Officers for 2013 are: Lois, Treasurer and Market Manager; Michelle, Assistant Treasurer (whose name will be added to the credit union account); and Elaine, Secretary. All members are on the Steering Committee.

The treasurer distributed the yearly report. There is a difference in the ending balance and Lois will recheck the figures.

The market opens on May 4th. Lois will advertise in the Rolling Thunder and the Town Line. U.B.R. will be asked to mention the market in their newsletter(s). 500 new brochures will be printed with Tom Roberts’ help.

There was a discussion about the SNAP program. We may need to reapply to the program since Judy Rock used her personal information on the original application. (Judy sadly died in December.) U.B.R. might apply for us using their organization numbers.

Tess reported on the Maine Farmland Trust program on vouchers. There is not enough grant money this year so the program will be making changes. Reimbursement to vendors will be 50% or 25% and there will no longer be paper vouchers. Tess showed us tally sheets that could be distributed with vendors’ names. Tess will report back with the new system.

There will be a volunteer each week to process the EBT machine. Tess also reported that there is a Waldo County Extension SNAP coordinator and educator here in Unity. She is Beth Chamberlain.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:50 A.M.

Respectfully submitted,
Elaine K. Olsen, Secretary